Why study in London?

Originally posted on LinkedIn

IMG_3741

Following a degree in London has always been my dream.

Even from highschool, I was fascinated by the high-quality education that has been praised over the years, and eventually, I decided to pursue my dream. Being the cultural capital of the Globe, London is a metropolis that offers more than it meets the eye, and once you’ve submerged in the beautiful London world, there is no easy escape.

Coming from a country that is still in development and a small town, I realised that being a London student offers so many free things to experience and so many people to meet.

Although many people argue whether London is the most expensive city to live in or not, I tend to disagree.

The capital is a city that has higher prices than other cities, is true, but as an international student, you can still manage and have fun!  Budgeting and understanding the prices that grocery brands offer is the first thing to do. For example, as a self-supporting student, once I’ve gotten a job, I managed to keep my weekly groceries at  £15 per week.

It’s not an easy task, but once you know where to shop and that street markets offer you great deals, you’re ready to go!

I understood how important it was to come and study here from the moment I stepped inside Middlesex University.

I studied Creative Writing and Journalism, and because the world is changing at the blink of a second, I knew London is the place to be. The accessibility of information, technology and place is absolutely amazing and is only in London where you can develop a sense of responsibility and attachment.

Having peers from all around the world in my class, I have met many international students that have given me another perspective over the world,and over the boundaries that sometimes are pointless.

One of the greatest things about studying in London, as a Creative Writing student, was the fact that inspiration can be found anywhere.

Regardless if you’re enjoying the sun in the park, the view from Richmond Park, sipping your tea in St Paul’s, there is no better place to evolve professionally than London.

Universities offer a great range of activities that students can get involved, and more importantly, they offer cross-platforms for students from all the United Kingdom to know each other.

For example, I have been lucky enough to be selected as a Student Blogger last year for the Southbank Centre during the Women of the World Festival. Secondly, because, along with my friends, we’ve set up the FutureRising society at university, I have also become a FutureRising contributor. FutureRising is a creative online website that allows people from the creative industries to connect.

Overall, I believe that London has to be experienced in order to be understood. Students coming here will see that although hard-word is necessary to succeed, with the cultural immensity that London offers, things will be easier and more entertaining!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “Why study in London?

  1. Pingback: Why study in London? | Internationalstudents-lovinglondon

  2. Good post, i feel very similar about my experiences moving from London to study in the U.S. You will never really understand a place until you are immersed in it.

    Like

    • Thank you. I think that understanding big cities and their cultures can be either influence you or challenge you; either way: you become something else once you’ve let yourself submerged into novelties. Hope things are going great for you in the U.S! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

